The Best Carry-On Bags for 2027

Line-up of hard-shell cabin cases, wheeled soft bags and travel backpacks in a modern airport terminal

Travel Gear – 2027 Carry-On Guide

The Best Carry-On Bags for 2027

Nine research-led shortlists for strict dimensions, low empty weight, backpack comfort, wheeled convenience and long-term support.

Prices checked 21 Sep 2026Official specificationsResearch-led, not hands-on

Original Travel Gear image

The best carry-on bags for 2027 will not be the same for every traveller. A frequent British Airways passenger can use a more generous 56 x 45 x 25 cm envelope than a traveller who regularly faces 55 x 40 x 20 cm or a seven-kilogram limit. A smooth premium spinner can be excellent through airports and frustrating on steps. A 760 g backpack can protect a weight allowance yet provide less structure and less sophisticated carry than a heavier travel pack.

This shortlist is research-led, not hands-on. Products were selected from current official UK pages and compared using packed dimensions, empty weight, stated capacity, price, warranty, carry system, access and likely airline flexibility. It does not claim personal ownership, rolling tests, water tests or long-term durability. The 2027 title reflects the intended buying period; prices and availability were checked on 21 September 2026 and must be rechecked before purchase because new models and airline rules may appear.

The shortlist deliberately mixes hard-shell cases, wheeled soft luggage and backpacks. The most useful decision is to choose the correct format and size envelope first, then compare features within that group.

This article contains clearly labelled Amazon affiliate search links and links to commercial product pages. Travel Gear may receive a commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to the reader. The shortlist is research-led and was built from declared criteria rather than commission rate.
Strict-size hard shell

Antler Icon Stripe Cabin

55 x 40 x 20 cm, 2.7 kg and a lifetime warranty make it a practical fit for many European overhead allowances.

Lightweight backpack

Osprey Daylite 44

At 1.06 kg with an AirScape back panel and 55 x 35 x 23 cm dimensions, it protects weight allowance better than wheeled cases.

Value and lowest weight

CabinZero Classic 44

The 760 g, 51 x 36 x 18 cm design provides exceptional volume-to-weight value, though the simple harness needs realistic load discipline.

Premium long-term support

Briggs & Riley Baseline

Its lifetime repair promise and packing system are compelling, but 4.6 kg empty weight rules it out for many low-limit flights.

01 How the 2027 shortlist was built

The ranking is research-led and deliberately separates documented specifications from untested performance.

The first filter was practical UK availability on a current official page. The second was a published cabin-oriented size. The comparison then used empty weight, packed dimensions, stated capacity, warranty, repair support, carry format, laptop access, expansion and price. Products were not scored for wheel smoothness, shoulder comfort, water performance or long-term durability because those require direct comparative testing.

The shortlist is organised by use case rather than one overall winner. A bag can be excellent for British Airways and poor for a seven-kilogram Thai domestic flight. Expansion is treated as optional return-trip capacity, not permission to board over the booked depth. Manufacturer capacity figures are not assumed to be measured consistently, so litres are used as a secondary indicator rather than the main ranking metric.

  • Prices are dated examples checked on 21 September 2026 and may change before or during 2027.
  • Official product pages are commercial sources; they support stated specifications and warranties, not independent proof of comfort or durability.
  • A model missing current dimension or weight data is not given an invented figure.
  • The operating airline and fare remain the final authority for cabin allowance.
  • Hands-on testing would be required before making comparative claims about wheel noise, strap comfort, water ingress or abrasion.
Specification matrix comparing nine shortlisted carry-on bags by type, size, weight and price
Official specifications reveal large differences in empty weight before any clothing is packed.
02 Choose the airline envelope before the bag

The most expensive case is still the wrong case when it does not fit the booked fare.

A conservative 55 x 40 x 20 cm target works across many European cabin allowances and immediately excludes several otherwise attractive bags. A larger 56 x 45 x 25 cm envelope suits British Airways and some full-service carriers, but it is not a universal standard. Low-cost fares may include only a small underseat item unless a cabin-bag add-on is purchased. Weight rules range from no stated limit to 7 kg or 8 kg, and some airlines combine the cabin bag and personal item.

Carry-on size envelopes comparing common 55 by 40 by 20 centimetre and larger airline allowances
A conservative 55 x 40 x 20 cm target fits more airlines than a generous 56 x 45 x 25 cm case.

Write down the strictest route you use at least twice a year. Include wheels, handles and front pockets. Then decide whether occasional larger allowances justify a larger bag. A frequent 7 kg traveller should treat empty weight as a primary specification. A traveller who mainly uses British Airways and moves by taxi may accept a heavier structured spinner.

Planning envelope What it favours What it excludes or complicates
55 x 40 x 20 cm Antler Icon Stripe and slim Samsonite configurations July 24.5 cm depth, Eastpak 24 cm depth, many 45 L backpacks
55 x 40 x 23 cm More expandable shells and travel backpacks Strict 20 cm carriers when fully packed
56 x 45 x 25 cm Large cabin cases and generous soft bags Most low-cost basic fares and smaller regional aircraft
7 kg maximum CabinZero, Osprey, light Samsonite and disciplined packing Briggs & Riley Baseline leaves very little contents allowance
03 Choose spinner, soft wheeled bag or backpack

Carry format changes the journey more than most pocket features.

Decision map for choosing between spinner suitcase, wheeled soft bag and travel backpack
Choose the carry style before comparing pockets, locks and finish.

Hard-shell spinner

Choose a spinner for smooth terminals, taxis, lifts and crush-sensitive contents. Four wheels make queues and narrow aisles easy, but they reduce internal volume and perform poorly on steps, cobbles and rough approaches. Polycarbonate and polypropylene shells flex differently; material names alone do not prove impact performance.

Soft wheeled bag

A soft case can provide external access, useful compression and flatter home storage. It may squeeze into a generous sizer, but bulging pockets can also push it over the stated depth. Two-wheel models usually protect wheel recesses better and cope with rougher ground than small spinners, though they must be pulled rather than moved sideways.

Travel backpack or hybrid

Backpacks keep both hands free and perform well on stairs and public transport. Low shell weight is valuable under strict limits. The risk is overpacking: 44 or 45 litres of dense equipment can be uncomfortable even when the bag itself is light. Look for a shaped back panel, useful sternum strap, adjustable harness where available and a way to hide straps if the bag is checked.

04 Compare the nine shortlisted carry-on bags

Use the table to eliminate poor fits before reading the individual recommendations.

Research-led carry-on shortlist: official specifications checked 21 September 2026
Bag Type Dimensions Empty weight Stated capacity Price checked
Antler Icon Stripe Cabin Hard-shell spinner 55 x 40 x 20 cm 2.7 kg 38.4 L packing capacity £185
Samsonite Proxis Spinner 55 Expandable hard-shell spinner 55 x 40 x 20/23 cm 2.2 kg 40/46 L £359
July Carry On Light Expandable Expandable hard-shell spinner 54 x 36 x 24.5 cm 2.2 kg 35/40 L £215
Osprey Daylite 44 Travel Backpack Clamshell travel backpack 55 x 35 x 23 cm 1.06 kg 44 L £120
CabinZero Classic Backpack 44L Lightweight clamshell backpack 51 x 36 x 18 cm 0.76 kg 44 L £65
Eastpak Tranverz S Two-wheel soft-sided case 51 x 32.5 x 24 cm 2.41 kg Not stated on the cited page £95 observed
Patagonia Black Hole MLC 45L Convertible backpack/duffel 56 x 37 x 19 cm 1.635 kg 45 L £200 list; £140 sale observed
Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L Expandable modular travel backpack International carry-on claim; verify current size guide Verify current size guide 35 L compressed to 45 L expanded £259.99
Briggs & Riley Baseline Essential 56cm Spinner Expandable soft-sided spinner 55.9 x 35.6 x 22.9 cm 4.6 kg 37-48 L £599
Seven kilogram cabin allowance diagram comparing lightweight backpacks and heavier premium suitcases
A 4.6 kg case leaves only 2.4 kg of contents under a 7 kg allowance.
Capacity is not standardisedA 44 L figure from one brand is not automatically larger in usable practice than a 40 L figure from another. Shape, wheel wells, internal dividers and measurement method all change the result.
05 The best carry-on bags for 2027 by use case

Each recommendation is limited to the documented criteria and states the main reason another bag may be better.

01

Antler Icon Stripe Cabin

Best strict-size hard shell
Price£185
Size55 x 40 x 20 cm
Weight2.7 kg
Capacity38.4 L packing capacity
WarrantyLifetime warranty
FormatHard-shell spinner

Best for

Travellers who want a polished 55 x 40 x 20 cm case for European airline flexibility.

Main trade-off

Heavier than the lightest premium shells and less suitable for stairs or rough surfaces.

Current buying check

Official Antler UK page, checked 21 September 2026.

Open the official page first, then compare current retailer stock and price. Recheck the 2027 model and airline fit before buying.

02

Samsonite Proxis Spinner 55

Best lightweight premium hard shell
Price£359
Size55 x 40 x 20/23 cm
Weight2.2 kg
Capacity40/46 L
Warranty10-year global warranty
FormatExpandable hard-shell spinner

Best for

Premium buyers who want low shell weight, expansion and broad 55 x 40 cm compatibility.

Main trade-off

High price, and the expanded 23 cm depth may exceed stricter 20 cm limits.

Current buying check

Official Samsonite UK page, checked 21 September 2026.

Open the official page first, then compare current retailer stock and price. Recheck the 2027 model and airline fit before buying.

03

July Carry On Light Expandable

Best lightweight expandable spinner
Price£215
Size54 x 36 x 24.5 cm
Weight2.2 kg
Capacity35/40 L
WarrantyLifetime warranty
FormatExpandable hard-shell spinner

Best for

Travellers who value low weight, expansion and smooth airport movement more than strict 20 cm depth.

Main trade-off

The 24.5 cm depth is unsuitable for several stricter European allowances even before expansion.

Current buying check

Official July UK page and comparison page, checked 21 September 2026.

Open the official page first, then compare current retailer stock and price. Recheck the 2027 model and airline fit before buying.

04

Osprey Daylite 44 Travel Backpack

Best low-weight backpack with real carry structure
Price£120
Size55 x 35 x 23 cm
Weight1.06 kg
Capacity44 L
WarrantyAll Mighty Guarantee
FormatClamshell travel backpack

Best for

Multi-stop travellers who face stairs, public transport and low weight limits but still need a shaped back panel and sternum strap.

Main trade-off

A 44 L load can become heavy on the body, and 23 cm depth does not fit every strict cabin rule.

Current buying check

Official Osprey UK page, checked 21 September 2026.

Open the official page first, then compare current retailer stock and price. Recheck the 2027 model and airline fit before buying.

05

CabinZero Classic Backpack 44L

Best value and volume-to-weight ratio
Price£65
Size51 x 36 x 18 cm
Weight0.76 kg
Capacity44 L
WarrantyLimited lifetime warranty
FormatLightweight clamshell backpack

Best for

Budget travellers and low weight allowances where simple organisation and a very light shell matter most.

Main trade-off

The harness is simpler than the Osprey, so the full 44 L capacity should not be treated as a comfortable target for every body.

Current buying check

Official CabinZero page, checked 21 September 2026.

Open the official page first, then compare current retailer stock and price. Recheck the 2027 model and airline fit before buying.

06

Eastpak Tranverz S

Best soft wheeled bag for flat storage
Price£95 observed
Size51 x 32.5 x 24 cm
Weight2.41 kg
CapacityNot stated on the cited page
WarrantyUp to 30-year limited warranty
FormatTwo-wheel soft-sided case

Best for

Travellers who want separate zipped decks, compression and a case that stores flatter than a hard shell.

Main trade-off

The 24 cm depth exceeds strict 20 cm limits and the cited colour was low stock, so availability must be checked.

Current buying check

Official Eastpak UK product information available in search index, checked 21 September 2026.

Open the official page first, then compare current retailer stock and price. Recheck the 2027 model and airline fit before buying.

07

Patagonia Black Hole MLC 45L

Best durable hybrid for non-wheeled travel
Price£200 list; £140 sale observed
Size56 x 37 x 19 cm
Weight1.635 kg
Capacity45 L
WarrantyPatagonia product guarantee
FormatConvertible backpack/duffel

Best for

Travellers who want a weather-resistant soft bag with backpack, shoulder and duffel carry.

Main trade-off

At 56 cm it exceeds some 55 cm limits, lacks a bottle pocket and is heavier than simpler 44 L backpacks.

Current buying check

Official Patagonia UK page, checked 21 September 2026; sale prices can end without notice.

Open the official page first, then compare current retailer stock and price. Recheck the 2027 model and airline fit before buying.

08

Peak Design Travel Backpack 45L

Best for modular camera and tech organisation
Price£259.99
SizeInternational carry-on claim; verify current size guide
WeightVerify current size guide
Capacity35 L compressed to 45 L expanded
WarrantyLifetime guarantee
FormatExpandable modular travel backpack

Best for

Photographers and tech-heavy travellers who value multiple access points and compatible cubes.

Main trade-off

Premium price, substantial structure and complex organisation add weight; current dimensions should be confirmed on the size guide before purchase.

Current buying check

Official Peak Design UK page, checked 21 September 2026; the accessible page did not expose a complete current dimension and weight block, so no unverified numbers are inserted.

Open the official page first, then compare current retailer stock and price. Recheck the 2027 model and airline fit before buying.

09

Briggs & Riley Baseline Essential 56cm Spinner

Best warranty and business organisation
Price£599
Size55.9 x 35.6 x 22.9 cm
Weight4.6 kg
Capacity37-48 L
WarrantyLifetime repair guarantee including airline damage
FormatExpandable soft-sided spinner

Best for

Frequent travellers who prioritise repair support, garment organisation and a flat interior over empty weight and price.

Main trade-off

The 4.6 kg empty weight leaves only 2.4 kg of contents under a 7 kg allowance and makes it unsuitable for many low-cost or Asian routes.

Current buying check

Official Briggs & Riley UK page, checked 21 September 2026.

Open the official page first, then compare current retailer stock and price. Recheck the 2027 model and airline fit before buying.

06 Use empty weight as a contents budget

A low airline limit turns the bag itself into one of the largest packed items.

Under a 7 kg allowance, the 760 g CabinZero leaves about 6.24 kg for contents before a personal-item rule is considered. The 1.06 kg Osprey leaves about 5.94 kg. The 2.2 kg Samsonite or July leaves 4.8 kg. The 4.6 kg Briggs & Riley leaves only 2.4 kg. These are simple arithmetic examples, not packing guarantees, but they show why a premium, durable case may be incompatible with the traveller’s normal airlines.

Weight also affects handling. A very light backpack can encourage overpacking until the harness becomes uncomfortable. A heavier spinner may be easy on smooth floors and difficult to lift overhead. Test the complete load at home: carry it for at least twenty minutes, lift it safely to shoulder height and move it through stairs, a narrow doorway and a public-transport style turn.

Choose a marginLeave around 0.5-1.0 kg below the strictest limit where possible. Airport scales, food, water, documents and return-trip purchases make exact-max packing fragile.
07 Read warranty and repair support as part of the price

A long warranty is useful only when the coverage, process and parts support fit the way the bag will be used.

Briggs & Riley states that its lifetime guarantee covers repair even after airline damage, with no proof of purchase required. Antler and July advertise lifetime luggage warranties, while Samsonite publishes a ten-year global warranty and repair services in many countries. Eastpak publishes up to a thirty-year limited warranty. Osprey, CabinZero, Patagonia and Peak Design each provide their own guarantee or repair framework. The wording, exclusions and process should be read before purchase.

Check whether wheels, handles and zip pulls are replaceable, whether the brand provides local repair options, who pays shipping and whether cosmetic damage is excluded. A £65 backpack and a £599 spinner create different repair economics. The best value is not automatically the lowest purchase price or the longest headline warranty; it is the product that can be kept useful at reasonable cost.

Question Why it matters
Are wheels and handles replaceable? These are common failure points and can end the useful life of an otherwise sound case.
Does the warranty cover airline damage? Many warranties cover manufacturing faults only; checked-luggage damage may follow a different claim route.
Is proof of purchase required? Long ownership makes receipts easy to lose, so registration and records matter.
Where is the nearest repair route? International shipping can make a strong warranty impractical.
Are parts sold after the model changes? A replaceable wheel is useful only when the correct part remains obtainable.
08 Run a pre-purchase carry-on check

A ten-minute check prevents most expensive mismatches.

  1. List the three strictest airlines or fares you actually use and record size plus weight rules.
  2. Choose the carry format: spinner, soft wheeled or backpack. Do not compare across formats until that decision is made.
  3. Calculate the contents allowance after subtracting the empty bag weight.
  4. Check dimensions on the exact current variant, including wheels, handles and any expanded depth.
  5. Open the warranty and repair pages rather than relying on the product-page headline.
  6. Confirm laptop size, bottle access, external pockets and internal dividers against the items you carry.
  7. Review the returns period so the bag can be loaded and tried indoors before travel.
  8. Recheck the price and availability because this article was reviewed before 2027.

When trying a bag at home, use the intended contents rather than towels added only to create bulk. Weigh the result, walk with it, lift it and access the passport, liquids and laptop. Return it if the bag requires a packing style that does not match the journey.

09 Pros and cons of the 2027 shortlist approach

A research-led shortlist is broad and current, but it cannot replace fitting and comparative use.

Pros

  • Compares current UK prices, dimensions, weights and warranties across several bag formats.
  • Makes low airline weight limits visible before purchase.
  • Separates strict-size choices from generous-airline options.
  • Includes value, premium and repair-focused alternatives.
  • States where official data was missing instead of inserting an estimate.

Cons

  • No comparative hands-on testing of comfort, wheels, water ingress or long-term wear was performed.
  • Prices, stock, model names and airline rules can change before or during 2027.
  • Manufacturer capacity figures are not measured to one common standard.
  • A bag that fits the published limit can still be weighed or refused when overpacked.
  • Individual body fit and accessibility needs cannot be resolved from specifications alone.
10 Common carry-on buying mistakes

Most poor purchases start with capacity or appearance instead of the real travel constraint.

  • Buying to the most generous airline instead of the strictest regular route.
  • Ignoring wheels, handles and stuffed exterior pockets in the measurement.
  • Treating expansion as cabin-safe space rather than optional capacity that may exceed the fare.
  • Comparing litres as if every brand measures capacity identically.
  • Choosing a 4.6 kg premium case for a 7 kg allowance without calculating contents weight.
  • Assuming a 44 L backpack will remain comfortable at its maximum volume.
  • Using one successful boarding as proof of universal compatibility.
  • Reading only the warranty length and not the coverage or repair route.
  • Buying a camera-oriented backpack when the traveller needs simple clothing space.
  • Paying for integrated charging without checking current battery rules and whether the power bank is removable.
  • Trusting a future-dated list without rechecking the 2027 product page.
  • Keeping a bag after an indoor trial shows that the carry, lift or access does not suit the traveller.
11 The Best Carry-On Bags for 2027 FAQs

Detailed answers to the practical questions readers are most likely to ask.

What size carry-on bag is safest for European airlines in 2027?

A packed target around 55 x 40 x 20 cm is more conservative than the generous 56 x 45 x 25 cm allowance used by some full-service carriers. Always check the exact airline and fare because many basic tickets include only an underseat item.

Is a backpack better than a cabin suitcase?

A backpack is usually better for stairs, public transport and low empty weight. A spinner is usually better on smooth terminals and for travellers who should not carry weight on their back. The route and physical needs should decide the format.

Which carry-on bag is lightest in this shortlist?

The CabinZero Classic 44L is the lightest documented option at 760 g, followed by the Osprey Daylite 44 at 1.06 kg. Low weight does not automatically mean the best comfort or structure.

Which hard-shell carry-on fits 55 x 40 x 20 cm?

The Antler Icon Stripe Cabin is listed at exactly 55 x 40 x 20 cm. The Samsonite Proxis 55 is also 55 x 40 x 20 cm in its unexpanded configuration.

Is the Briggs & Riley Baseline suitable for 7 kg airlines?

Usually not for weight-conscious travellers. At 4.6 kg empty, it leaves only 2.4 kg for contents under a 7 kg allowance. It suits generous airlines and buyers prioritising repair support and organisation.

Are 45 litre backpacks cabin legal?

Some meet generous overhead dimensions, while others exceed strict depth or height limits. The packed dimensions matter, and soft bags can bulge. Check the exact carrier rather than relying on the volume label.

Should I buy an expandable carry-on?

Expansion is useful for ground travel, checked return journeys or generous airlines. It should not be assumed to remain cabin compliant. Measure the expanded depth and decide how the zip will be controlled before boarding.

Can I trust manufacturer capacity figures?

Use them as rough comparisons only. Internal dividers, wheel housings, curves and measurement methods vary. Dimensions, empty weight and a home packing trial are usually more useful.

Why is the article called 2027 when it was reviewed in 2026?

It is a forward buying guide based on products and official pages available on 21 September 2026. New models, stock and rules may change, so every decisive fact should be rechecked at the time of purchase in 2027.

Was every bag physically tested?

No. This is a transparent research-led shortlist based on official specifications, warranty information, price and use-case analysis. It does not claim comparative hands-on testing.

12 The clear recommendation

Use the evidence that matches the decision and keep the limitations visible.

Choose the carry style and airline envelope before choosing a brand. For broad strict-size hard-shell use, the Antler Icon Stripe Cabin is the clearest 55 x 40 x 20 cm choice, while the Samsonite Proxis 55 offers lower shell weight at a higher price. Travellers who value a low cabin-weight burden and real backpack structure should start with the Osprey Daylite 44; budget and extreme weight efficiency favour the CabinZero Classic 44.

Use the July Carry On Light Expandable, Eastpak Tranverz S, Patagonia MLC 45, Peak Design 45L and Briggs & Riley Baseline only when their particular strengths match the regular route. Their depths, heights, complexity or empty weight make them poor universal choices. The Briggs & Riley warranty is exceptional on paper, but the 4.6 kg shell is the wrong starting point for a seven-kilogram fare.

Because this is a 2027 guide reviewed on 21 September 2026, recheck price, availability, exact dimensions and airline rules before purchase. Load the bag indoors and return it if the carry, lift or access does not work. The best carry-on is not the one with the highest capacity; it is the lightest, most repairable format that fits the strictest trip you actually take.

13 Sources and fact-checking notes

Current rules, specifications and editorial guidance were checked against the following primary or official sources.

  1. Travelpro Europe – 2026 cabin-bag size guide – Current overview of differing European and international airline cabin dimensions and fare conditions.
  2. Antler UK – Icon Stripe Cabin – Official price, dimensions, weight, packing capacity, materials and lifetime warranty.
  3. Samsonite UK – Proxis Spinner 55 – Official price, unexpanded and expanded dimensions, weight, volume and warranty.
  4. July UK – Carry On Light Expandable – Official price, weight, capacity, features and warranty; dimensions cross-checked on July’s comparison page.
  5. Osprey UK – Daylite Carry-On Travel Pack 44 – Official dimensions, weight, capacity, carry system, materials and price.
  6. CabinZero – Classic Backpack 44L – Official dimensions, weight, capacity, price and warranty.
  7. Eastpak UK – Tranverz S – Official indexed product information for dimensions, weight, price and warranty; current stock must be rechecked.
  8. Patagonia UK – Black Hole MLC 45L – Official dimensions, weight, capacity, materials and observed list/sale pricing.
  9. Peak Design UK – Travel Backpack 45L – Official price, expansion concept, features and warranty; no unverified weight or dimensions were inserted where the accessible page omitted them.
  10. Briggs & Riley UK – Baseline Essential 56cm Spinner – Official dimensions, weight, capacity, price and lifetime repair guarantee.
  11. Amazon UK – Antler Icon Stripe search – Affiliate search link used as an optional retailer comparison.
  12. Amazon UK – Osprey Daylite 44 search – Affiliate search link used as an optional retailer comparison.
  13. Amazon UK – CabinZero Classic 44L search – Affiliate search link used as an optional retailer comparison.

Commercial manufacturer pages support current specifications, prices and stated policies; they do not independently prove comfort, durability or performance. Government, regulator and standards pages support rules and definitions. Practical recommendations are editorial analysis, not invented first-hand testing.

Illustrations in this article were created for Travel Gear. Third-party photographs, where used, are credited beside the image or in the source list.

Travel Gear editorial team

The Travel Gear editorial team creates research-led buying and packing guidance, checks current official sources, states trade-offs clearly and never invents personal ownership or testing.